Submission Deadline for The Goodwin Prize for Excellence in Theological Writing is June 1st

The Goodwin Writing Prizes for Excellence in Theological Writing

Where are the finest Christian theology professors of tomorrow?  They are in graduate school today!

Through the three annual Goodwin Prizes, with stipends of $2,500, $1,000 and $500, we recognize and reward the most promising graduate theology students in the world. The professor of the $2,500 prize winner receives $500.

The Louise and Richard Goodwin Writing Prizes for Excellence in Theological Writing are given to graduate students in recognition of essays that demonstrate:

  • creative theological thinking,
  • excellence in scholarship,
  • faithful witness to the Christian tradition, and
  • engagement with the community of faith.

BACK FOR 2015! The Goodwin Prize will  be offered in 2015.  Submissions will be due June 1, 2015 via both email ( and hard copy (1841 University Circle, Charlottesville, VA 22903 USA).

For more information, write to

or visit:

Past Goodwin Writing Prize Winners

Submit An Essay

The 2013 Goodwin Prize Winners

More than 100 exceptional essays across 40 schools were submitted in this year’s competition. After four rounds of readings, the board of directors of Theological Horizons has awarded:

The $2,000 Goodwin Prize to Ryan Harker of Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary for his essay, “Formed to Consume: A Theological Analysis of  Advertisements for Communications Technology”; A $500 award will go to his advisor, Professor Andrew Brubacher-Kaethler;

The $1,000 Goodwin Prize to Davey Henreckson of Princeton University for his essay, “The Political Image of Christ: Public Theology and Proleptic Ascent”;

The $500 Goodwin Prize to Allison Hamm of Duke Divinity School for her essay, “The Crown of Creation: Sabbath-Keeping and Christian Worship”.